top of page
Search
Writer's pictureVy Gia Luu

The Beginning

Hello everyone! My name is Vy Luu and I am a first-year here at UCI as a Business Econ major. I was born in Vietnam and moved to the U.S. when I was eight. A little fun fact about me is that I have a mini obsession with elephants!


PREVIOUS ENGLISH CLASS

The last English class I took was called Expository Reading and Writing in my senior year. The class was a hybrid class in which we meet every Tuesday and Thursday. In this class, I feel like I didn't learn much. Most of the assignments made me feel that it was just busywork. However, by being in the class I learned to be able to manage my time well. Since we only meet 2 days a week, I learned that I need to be on top of my work to be able to stay on track.


SELF ASSESSMENT

When it comes to writing, it can be fairly difficult for me to express my thoughts. My biggest weakness would be my grammar skill. As stated earlier, moving to the U.S. at a young age always make me doubt my English skill. While my classmates were learning grammar rules in elementary school, I was trying to understand the teacher's instructions. Until today, I'm still self-conscious of my speaking and writing skills. I hope that I will be able to stop doubting my skill as time goes on.


For the Language and Gramma Diagnostic at Connect, I scored an 82%. The problems that I struggle with the most are questions that deal with punctuations, commas, run-on sentences, and dangling modifiers. I was surprised that I managed to get an 82% on the assignment. I honestly expected to get a C on it.


CORE ELEMENTS OF THE COURSE

The syllabus provides a groundwork for students to understand how the class will be. It covers basic rules and it's a source that students can use if they have any questions about the class. After taking this course, the goal is that students will be more confident in their reading and writing skills. As well as developing good habits for their writing process. The goal of the course is for students to be able to identify flaws in their writing and being able to fix them themselves. To be successful in this course students need to attend class time, have an individual conference with the professor, and be collaborative. Other criteria include turning the minimum required assignments in on time and putting time and effort into their work. By putting in extra effort, students can receive an A at the end of the quarter.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page